Monday, September 28, 2009

Why Reading is, quite simply, Awesome

So, as many of you may know, I'm a bit of an obsessive reader. There is, quite literally, very few things in the world I would rather than do than curl up with a good book and escape into the world of my characters, sometimes for hours at a time.

I'm not sure what it is about books that speak to me so much - I will read just about anything, from historical fiction, to cheesy romance, to sassy chick-lit, to mystery (although not at night - I'm a scaredy cat!) to tell-all biographies. Whenver I read a book, I always find myself casting the main characters in a movie. Inevitably, Hollywood adapts the book a few years later, and I get so excited to see the book that I've been known to start countdowns (ie My Sisters Keeper). And, inevitably, the movie just never compares. Am I the only one who, when not reading a book, finds myself thinking about the characters, wondering what they're doing? It's like part of me is afraid they're up to something and I don't know about it. Crazy, I know.

I have an ongoing debate with a co-worker that libraries, bookstores, and actual physical books are soon going to be a thing of the past. Kind of like redheads and answering machines. To this I say...Noooooooooooooo. I refuse to believe that "e-books" are going to erase old-fashioned, physical books. Nothing can replace cracking open a good book, holding those pages in your hands, that "new smell" book, dog-earing the page to mark your spot so you can run to make a mug of hot chocolate...

What do you think? Are books destined for extinction? One of my good friends and fellow book clubber has a Kindle and she loves it. I remain a skeptic. As for libraries, according to the Indianapolis Star, they've seen membership grow by nearly a million people due to the economy being in the toilet. I jumped on the library bandwagon a year and a half ago, and praise it loudly and proudly to anyone who will listen. I always have about 3 books checked out, and 6 more on hold, and I'm always renewing or loaning them out to friends (converts if I have my way...).

And don't even get me started on Barnes and Noble - the only downside to my library membership: no reason to go kill 2 hours at Barnes and Noble. Sometimes I still go in, and take pictures of new releases with my cell phone and then go get them at the library. Sad, I know, but a girl has got to have her Barney's fix once in a while.

So let's hear it: favorite books? worst book-to-movie adaption (and vice versa?) Any favorite reading spots? (My porch swing is tied with my bath tub.) Anyone serectly think they can write a best-seller? (Because I so KNOW I can... :-) )

Now, if you'll excuse me, The Ex Mrs. Hedgefund is calling my name...

Tuesday, September 1, 2009

Automatic Doors and all that jazz

Hello Faithful readers (and by that I mean my family, Emily, and Nicole...)

Well, it's now been about 5 months since I've blogged. Oops! I SWEAR I'm going to be better. So, I was walking into Target the other day, when I realized something. We have become so used to technology and automated things that it's become comical. What do I mean....read on for some examples.

1. As I walked into Target, I found myself waiting to enter through the automated doors. I was about the 5th person in line when I realized, Geez, Lindsay, just push open the damned door beside you and walk right in. I mean, 10 years ago we all got by just fine opening and closing our own doors, rather than waiting for a machine to do it for us.

2. My bathroom at work has automatic flushers, which has led me to have a wet butt more times then I care to remember. Any slight move and the thing flushes and sprays toilet water. Sort of like a surprise bidet. The bathroom also has automatic soap, of all things. So, standing, impatiently, with my hands under the faucet, waiting for the automatic sink to kick only. Ha! Jokes on me. Just to keep us on our toes, we actually have to turn on and off the water.

3. My car is old. Not 1980 old, but a 2002 Malibu Maxx. It doesn't have automatic door unlockers. I actually have to physically insert my key into the the key slot on my door, turn it, and unlock the door. You wouldn't believe how indignant my passengers get that they have to ...gasp...wait for me to unlock the door and get in befoe I can open their door. I want to shout, for god's sake people, not so long ago every one had to actually open their doors. And hotels?? They used to open and shut with this strange metal device called a key...

4. Don't get me started on voicemail. It is 2009. Pretty much anyone over the age of 8 has a cell phone. Even my dad has a cell phone, and he loves to do some texting. So WHY do the cell phone voicemail ladies insist on giving a voicemail lesson every. single. time. you leave a message??? We get it - wait for the beep, leave a message, done. Instead, "if you want to leave a callback number, press 412." Or, and this is my favorite, whenever I call Nicole, her lady says, "If you want to send a fax..." Um, hello? If I wanted to leave a fax I would...send a fax!! Not call her damned voicemail.

Those are just a few examples of how spoiled I've gotten by technology. In fact, as I write this, I found myself getting impatient that my email wasn't loading as fast as I wanted it to. Deep breath. Not everything needs to be instant gratification. In fact, some things I like the old fashioned way. I hate online shopping. I like actually going inside the bank and talking to the teller. I love getting a card in the mail, and taking the time to send one. I even kind of miss having to drop your pictures off to be developed. It was so exciting to pick the pictures up and see how they'd turned out!

What about you? What crazy things have you become reliant on, and what do you miss? Me, I miss VHS, but man, I can't imagine living without my DVR!!!