So, last weekend, I attempted - twice - to see a scary movie. I thought, it's Halloween, time to get in the spirit!
I used to love scary movies - not gory ones, but campy "I Know What you Did Last Summer" and "Urban Legends." I loved that feeling I would get where I felt like I might (simultaneously) cry/scream/giggle/pee my pants. That feeling that someone was, quite possibly, about to sneak up behind you at any minute.
Well, I'm sorry to say, I struck out this year. Last Friday, Krissi, Nate, and Liz and I were going to go to Hanna's Haunted House. It's supposed to be AWESOME. I got all bundled up, hiked on my Tuggs (Target - Uggs) and was ready to rock it. Mother Nature had different plans - there was a monsoon in Greenwood. You can't even imagine how hard it rained. It was not even nice weather for a duck. So, after a yummy hamburger at BJs (I know, the name is bad) we canoed over to the theater to see Paranormal Activity. Now - I had been reluctant to see this movie because I feared that it was going to be all shaky, artsy camera work that would make me dizzy. I have actually thrown up watching home movies, so I literally can't watch movies that use the hand-held, shaky camera work. Turns out - I was right! The camera work was awful. I sat with my scarf wrapped over my eyes, composing a grocery list in my head. To make matters worse, the theater was so crowded I was about 4 rows back from the front. Vomit. I think we lasted for 30 minutes. I was never so happy to see a movie theater lobby.
A few days later, Mom and I met up for a movie. We decided to either see "The Stepfather" or "Couples Retreat." Now, my mom didn't know that I had already seen "Couples Retreat" - she gets very indignant when I see movies more than once. Not sure why. So - since I failed at "Paranormal Activity" we decided to see "The Stepfather". Mom and I have quite a history at seeing scary movies - about 50% of the time we have to leave because I get so scared. This started when I was about 4 and had to flee the Diana where we were catching "Ghostbusters" right up until the present. Well, we made it - literally - through about 15 seconds of the opening scene. They were still flashing the names of the actors on the screen when we looked at each other, grabbed all of our coats, snacks, and cokes and hightailed it to the other side of the theater where we saw "Couples Retreat." As the lights came up, I looked at Mom and said, "I have a confession...I've already seen that movie...". Don't worry, we're still friends.
I think I've learned my lesson - no more scaries for me. Give me a comedy, a chick flick, or a juicy historical drama and I'm all in. Otherwise, I'm going to have to pass. Now, if you'll excuse me, I'm going to watch "Love Actually" for the 724th time.
No comments:
Post a Comment